Grilled Meats - A Work in Progress

Grilled Meats - A Work in Progress

Hope all of my American readers had a wonderful 4th of July weekend, full of whatever festivities you chose. I can’t say I have a ton of 4th of July traditions, aside from trying to peep at some fireworks (TV will do), spend some time in the sun, and gain access at some point to grilled meats. Address those items at some point throughout the holiday weekend, and I’m good to go. With temps hovering at and even surpassing the hundred degree threshold at one point, it was hard to get really excited about being outdoors at all – unless there was relief (pool… ocean?) nearby.

For the actual day of, we went a little on the non-traditional side – electing to start off with brunch at Calle Ocho followed by (partially) watching Bye, Bye Birdie, eating nachos, catching the fireworks indoor, and coordinating an impromptu puppy party (4 in total). I have the cutest video of the pups but alas I learned the hard way that although it looks cute on my phone, the iPhone videos pixelate too much to share online.

But I did get my outdoors fix, too. Saturday I spent the day at the beach with a friend at Long Beach, alternating between reading Allie Larkin’s Stay and working on manuscript revisions. And Monday, I went to Islip (Long Island again!) and spent the day poolside squeezing in my grilled meats and deliciously decadent sides (love me some chip dip and bruchetta).

Blueberry Cream Pie - Briermere Farms

Blueberry Cream Pie - Briermere Farms

And the pièce de résistance – the blueberry cream pie from Briermere Farms. Seriously amazing. Everything about the pies – the fruit, the dairy used for the cream portion, etc. – is locally produced, which has to be why it tastes more fresh than any pie I think I’ve ever tasted. It wasn’t heavy, nor was it overwhelmingly sweet. I am salivating just thinking about this… You know I’ve had a ton of desserts, so to give it the crown after my blueberry tour of New England means a ton. I’m not sure how (being carless and all) I’m going to do it, but I definitely plan to make a trip out to Briermere to try out more of their varied selection.

In spite of all of the wonderful food throughout the weekend (and even hours leading up to class), I’m proud I was able to end out my most recent trapeze IFW (Intensive Flying Workshop) on a high note with a successful pennyroll. Not quite on the catch, but overall, quite pleased!

Hope you all had a wonderful 4th!

