While I’ve somehow yet to make it out to try their brunch pizza action, Sage General Store is one of my favorite LIC staples. Dependable and varied, Sage has yet to truly disappoint, a fact of which I’m truly grateful since there aren’t a ton of restaurants in the area around there. There’s not a ton of seating inside, as the seating area is primarily a thin strip along the ordering counter. Comprised of varied table shapes and sizes, you will likely feel a bit like you are on top of your neighbor.  Thankfully people are usually super friendly.

Chicken with Ancho Chili Sauce - Sage General Store

Chicken with Ancho Chili Sauce - Sage General Store

I’m a big fan of their daily specials. They recently had a half chicken with an ancho chili sauce paired with parsnip potatoes and green beans. Amazing. While I’ve yet to perfect the art of the well-balanced meal, Sage serves it up daily. It’s like home cooking you can buy in  restaurant setting. I’ll concede for a lunch place (what it mostly is to the surrounding offices and college) some of the offerings can be on the pricier side at $11-$14. Many times though I’ve bought one of their daily mains and split it over two meals. More than enough to do so and makes the price per meal much more reasonable to boot. They recently changed up their menu a bit. I really enjoy their newly added Southwestern Turkey Burger – which is ground turkey, lettuce, tomato, and jalapeno mayo on a brioche roll. My all-time favorite though is their Texas Cowboy Steak – which is grilled flank steak, caramelized onions, watercress and spicy chipotle mayo on sullivan struck flatbread. Amazing. I’m not a big red meat eater, so if I tell you that’s where it’s at you know it’s serious business.

Mac 'n Cheese - Option of the Day at Sage

Mac 'n Cheese - Option of the Day at Sage

They also keep it seasonal. In the summertime, they serve lobster rolls on Friday, a special I always seem to miss. Next summer this will happen. I’m a big fan of their cupcakes, especially their peanut butter and jelly and hostess-style cupcakes. It’s nice to know that even when stranded at work, there’s always a high quality cupcake nearby. That’s downright essential. Worthy enough that I once took some to Jen Lancaster at a book signing event. Fact.  And, to boot, they have a daily variation of mac ‘n cheese. Daily! I’ve had the standard 5-cheese. Need to go back for more.

Pink Snowball - Sage General Store

Pink Snowball - Sage General Store

See Sage this coming Monday (January 17th) on the Food Network show “Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives”. It’s kind of none of the above, but that’s besides the point. Funny side note – my manager tried to take me to a belated birthday lunch the day they filmed this. They were closed for the day due to filming. Check ‘em out – on tv and in person. Congrats Sage on the nod! :)

Sage General Store – 24-20 Jackson Ave., Long Island City – 718.361.0707
No Reservations / Delivery Available

