I get really excited when something new comes to Long Island City. Okay. Really excited. So yesterday when I saw a new place as I walked over to the Post Office, Pumpernickel Bagel, with streamers and such flying announcing its arrival, I couldn’t wait to figure out a time to visit. And I didn’t wait long, as I was there first thing this morning to give it a go. Newly embracing eggs for breakfast, I’ve taken to bacon, egg, and cheese on a bagel. Nice option and it’s definitely more filling and I’d like to think at least slightly more healthy than say an almond croissant.

Pumpernickel Bagel - LIC

Pumpernickel Bagel - LIC

When I walked in, I was impressed by the full range of offerings. They have an entire case display of carbs galore – muffins, croissants, pastries. You have to walk all of the way to the back to find their sandwich offerings, which is more of the egg-and-meat variety in the morning hours. They feature Boar’s Head meats, a plus in my book. They also have a huge assortment of every cream cheese you can imagine. Want a walnut cream cheese spread? Yes please. Good news, they have it here.

Cream Cheese Galore!

Cream Cheese Galore!

I opted to have my bacon, egg, and cheese on a poppy seed bagel when I found they were out of everything bagels. And I might have been disappointed to miss out on the everything if they hadn’t told me they were already out of them and were baking more in the oven right then. Any bagel place that’s still baking stuff fresh throughout the morning automatically gets more points in my book. And my sandwich? Just perfect. The bagel was fresh, the cheese perfectly melted, and the bacon present enough yet not too heavy either. And their iced coffee was good and the service warm and friendly to boot. What was there to not like? Who’s going to be making a trip back over? This girl! 

Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Sandwich - Pumpernickel Bagel, LIC

Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Sandwich

They also have all sorts of great things for lunch. Panninis, sandwiches, and burgers. Curious to see how those are. They are open until 6pm during the week and do free delivery as well. Stop by and see what you think!

Pumpernickel Bagel – 23-10 44 Drive, Long Island City – 718.361.9422

