The one productive thing I planned on doing in Alabama (aside from editing my good friend’s wedding photos) was making homemade pasta. I’ve never done it and seeing as I do not currently have a KitchenAid mixer (oh someday, someday), I planned to take advantage of my mom’s  as well as her ginormous kitchen – well, when compared to mine (even when considering the new larger one I’m utilizing in Brooklyn). The recipe we worked off is this one from Food.com.

We used the flat pasta maker attachment, which ended up making two long strips of pasta and one shameful looking tail we couldn’t tell if belonged in the other two or was just meant to look sad.

The strips were mostly super thick, and of an irregular length. My mom and sister had done this before, but I was the newbie. We decided to cut the thicker strips down into thinner widths to make for sort of a fettuccine style noodle. We made the full recipe and it made a ton of noodles. We had wax paper dusted with flour all up and down my parent’s long kitchen counter.

It seemed the dough would never run out. We just kept feeding it through the pasta attachment, repeating the process what seemed to be hundreds of times. Everything else we made – focaccia bread rounds and the spicy tomato sauce to accompany the pasta – were done and ready to go and the pasta just kept on coming. Supposedly you can do this solo, but our three (wo)man operation made it much more manageable. I’d like to learn how to make it all line up solo.

As they boiled, the noodles plumped up even more. They were thicker than standard fettuccine and far better, as you’d expect, than the prepackaged variety. The only thing we’d do differently next time would be to let the noodles dry more before boiling. We were ready to finish up and so we rushed a bit through that. It still tasted fine, but it did mean that the noodles clumped up a bit during the boiling process and, ultimately, in the plating.

Homemade Fettuccine with Spicy Tomato Sauce

Homemade Fettuccine with Spicy Tomato Sauce

Did you make anything tasty over the holidays?

