One of my eternal New Year’s resolutions seems to involve the kitchen. Deciding we can be more than casual acquaintances. Daresay maybe even working towards being good friends? Last week, I was excited to see this recipe pop up in my inbox. Lemony chicken. Yum. Artichoke hearts? Upgrade. The one odd thing in this recipe to me was vermouth. I’ve never cooked with it, but I guess fringe benefit is I’m ready to roll if anyone stops by and wants a martini.

Getting started simmering

Getting started simmering

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 lemons, juiced
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup vermouth
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 (14 ounce) can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup water
After adding the cornstarch. Thickening and almost ready.

After adding the cornstarch. Thickening and almost ready.

I pretty much followed this recipe exactly, with the exception of chicken breast halves. I instead used halved chicken breasts, which I liked. The artichokes ended up very tender and the liquid portion made the chicken moist. I paired this with couscous, which tasted even better topped by the excess juice from the dish. Very easy and flavorful.