appetite on

It’s funny… when I was younger, I devoured books. I couldn’t put them down. My favorite was when my parents would take us to the Waldenbooks at the mall or a local bookstore open for a while called Little Professor and back to the car I’d go, new books in hand. When I was younger it was the typical early teenage delights… your Babysitter’s Club books… Sweet Valley Twins… we had them all.

Then came high school. All of that required reading for AL and AP English classes and all of the sudden, reading wasn’t a hobby. It was a chore. A list of books that had to be read over the summer break and a continual stream of additional reading throughout the year. I ceased to seek out books since I found myself just so excited to have free time that any free time was devoted to anything but reading.

It did have its upside though. My professor at Mississippi State considered himself to have won if he found a book for us to read in class that I hadn’t already read in high school. Hah. It was funny. But the downside is that I can probably count on one hand the number of books that I read during college.

I’ve been getting back into the habit though. Mixing up some lighter reads with those that are heavier. And the other habit I’ve broken is the stack full of partial reads. I just finished Jen Lancaster’s Bright Lights, Big Ass and am cruising through Jennifer Weiner’s Good in Bed. I figure I’ll go back to Jeffrey Eugenides’ Middlesex then. The others have just gotten my mind moving and are proving helpful in getting the book I’m slowly plodding away at writing moving once more.

Anyone have any great books to recommend? At this pace, I’ll be in need of suggestions shortly. What a good problem to have, I say…

4 thoughts on “appetite on

  1. A Confederacy of Dunces is great.

    Or…since you are in NYC, try “Confessions of a Taoist on Wall Street” or anything else by David Payne.

  2. Not familiar with either. Will have to check those out. Last couple I’ve been on a fluff reading kick post-move craziness. I’ll be ready to be more mentally challenged shortly =)

  3. i’m reading “The guy not taken” by jennifer weiner – it’s a collection of short stories. Although she writes chick lit i think she has a great style of writing and is very descriptive. I’m eager to read “are you there vodka, it’s me chelsea” (i forget the author of this one but it’s on amazon) as well as “nineteen minutes” by jodie picoult. You should also check out bookmooch.com a book trading site. It’s absolutely wonderful 🙂

  4. Loved “The Guy Not Taken”. Good one! Thanks for the recommendations and hadn’t heard of bookmooch. Will have to look into that for sure!

Leave a Reply

