2007 – a look back

Before I set into my self-mandated bumming weekend, let’s take a look at last year’s (public) resolutions. How did I fare?

1) Finally make that trip to California included in last year’s list… I’m hoping to make the second, and not third, try here the charm! SS, my sorority little sis, mentioned making it a goal for us to meet up… and that’s a resolution I support. You’re right… it was 2001 when we last saw each other. Waaaaay too long.
CHECK! I made it out to visit AHW just shy of her leaving the West Coast herself, so make that an extra emphatic check!

2) Hit up my next international spots… Prague and Vienna. And no, it’s not cheating if you’ve got plans for the trip already.
CHECK! And what a great trip it was.

3) Tackle my parallel parking phobia. Someday I know I too can park in those random teeny spaces. This might have to be a late ’07 goal…
– Um, I think I get out here on a technicality of sorts. This one was quasi-negated by selling my car in late September (it *almost* made it to its first birthday…)

4) Finally pull out my flute. Sorry roomies — hope you don’t mind the serenade.
CHECK! I’ve only done it a couple of times since, but I did see I could still play, which was a relief. Truth-be-known, I was afraid it would be well frightening. Turned out to not be the case (phew).

5) Dust off those skates and hit the rink with Ms. JF, among others.
– Not quite yet… Tam and I have discussed hitting the rink here, so perhaps still some time to squeeze this in or more than likely to fall just slightly into that ’08 category. Sadly though not with Ms. JF due to my Manhattan move. I’m with you there though in spirit!

6) Find a way to get back into practicing my Spanish. Si tu quieres practicar o conversar conmigo, dime. Gracias 😉
CHECK! I’ve sort of found a way to get back into this here and there in my new job. Todavia necesito practicar mas, pero la situacion de aqui es mejor que en DC…

And while we’re talking 2007… here’s my 2007 Year in Review

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before? Broke a bone =( Let me think of some more positive ones… I went on a hot air balloon ride! Very cool.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I fared pretty well. Can’t complain. I will always make some resolutions. I don’t make outlandishly ridiculous ones. I like something that stretches me a bit and gives me goals, but I’m not a fan of those crazy insane ones which might as well not even be classed as a resolution.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes! My close friend MsJHW gave birth to a beautiful baby girl I just can’t wait to meet! Also a good friend of mine from my photo program at the Washington School of Photography gave birth to a beautiful baby boy. Congrats to both!

4. Did anyone close to you die? Thankfully, no.

5. What places did you visit? Prague, Vienna, Budapest, Southern Cali (Orange County/Santa Monica/LA), a return visit to my favorite beach – Destin

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007? Vacation time that’s true downtime, more balance between social/work life

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
August 15th – 10 year high school reunion (and first time or maybe second I started to think hmmm am I getting old?).
June 14th – getting drenched through to the core with DrP on the lawn at Wolf Trap to grove to some Joss Stone.
May 2nd – going with the girlfriends so see the re-release of Dirty Dancing on the big screen, singing and dancing along. Can’t beat that!
April 30th – the fire that destroyed the inside portion of the Historic Eastern Market – truly showing the community that exists on the Hill

8. What was your biggest achievement(s) of the year? Successfully giving two weeks notice at one job in DC and starting a new job in NYC at the end of those two weeks and moving into my place here only one week later. Looking back, pretty crazy – but it worked!

9. What was your biggest failure? Any stop on your resume that only amounts to 2 months doesn’t feel overwhelmingly successful. I wouldn’t call it a failure, but how about a low-point and need to regroup.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? I broke my foot in my move to Arlington. My standard phrase had been “well, at least I’ve never broken anything”. I can’t say that any more… but I’ve made an excellent recovery from it and have been even going to ballet classes 2x a week, so doing pretty well!

11. What was the best thing you bought? My Mac. Best purchase and best decision to take the plunge and make the big PC -> Mac switcheroo. Oh, and my Blackberry Curve. Um I don’t know if I could deal without it now – I’m not to proud to admit it!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? I’d like to make this one personal. Rio for going above and beyond to help me through the broken foot fiasco – carrying me into the emergency room and waiting with me for some 5 hours. And Coop for helping me to gather the last traces of my personal belongings from the Hill to my new home in VA, including carrying me up the long steep stairs at the old house on his back.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Britney Spears makes me sad. I’d like to think if I had two children, I’d be trying to make some sort of effort to pull myself upwards if nothing else for their sake. She seems destined to continue downwards. That doesn’t mean I don’t like her new album though (hey, I’m being honest!!). The other things I’m thinking here will remain floating around internally for the moment.

14. Where did most of your money go? Rent. Isn’t that always the case. *sigh*

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Getting to go home to Alabama for Christmas when (1) I had no vacation days to do so and (2) all flights out of NYC were so messed up it was looking like a dim possibility. Also, getting off my plaster cast before going to my 10 year HS reunion. That was very exciting news.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007? Fergie’s “Big Girls Don’t Cry” (with Tam’s cat going “meowwwwww” after she says “cry” in the song); Rihanna’s “Umbrella” (ellaellaella…); Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab”; Britney Spears’ “Piece of Me”; Tori Amos’ “Almost Rosey

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Probably slightly happier.
b) thinner or fatter? Probably about the same.
c) richer or poorer? Haha probably about the same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? SLEEP! And travel. Somehow, the two don’t mesh so well together. Oh and I wish I’d taken more pictures. I have let that slide way too much as of late.

19. How did you spend Christmas last year? With my family in the row house I was renting with my roommates at the time on Capitol Hill. Rio joined us for Christmas dinner and it was a great time with the fam.

20. Did you fall in love in 2007? No

21. How many one-night stands? Zip

22. What was your favorite TV program? If we’re talking new ones, then October Road and Samantha Who? Favorite staples are Grey’s Anatomy and the Hills (we all need brain candy), and the Office when I get the chance.

23. What did you do for your birthday in 2006? Co-celebration with the Tour Guide, as was done in 2007! Actual day-of was for both ’06 and ’07 dinner with the gals.

24. What was the best book you read? I really liked Eat Pray Love. I’ve been on a run of light-hearted chick lit reading, so I really enjoyed Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Bright Lights Big Ass.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery? Hmm, I’m trying to think what would fall into ’07 vs. ’06. I would say Amy Winehouse, Alicia Keys (only knew her radio stuff before), Feist

26. What did you want and get? A new digital camera, new iPod (my old school one was b/w and sans-video), new laptop

27. What did you want and not get? Hmmmm I think I just cleaned off my small “want” list.

28. What was your favorite film of this year? I really liked Juno and Run Baby Run. Trying to think what else I saw this year… I don’t feel like I’ve seen too many as of late.

29. Did you make some new friends this year? I just moved three months ago, so I’d hope so or I’d be mighty lonely! I’ve met a ton of new and fantastic people that I’m looking forward to getting to know more in the coming months, and I know there are new faces still to be met lurking into 2008!

30.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Hmmm, probably having closer to this work/life balance I’m getting towards here in NYC while in DC. That was a long string of months not to have that. I function more when in balance 🙂 And of course, getting to spend more time with friends and family. There’s never enough of that.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007? Long sweaters and sweater dresses. They are all I want. They are taking my closet by storm. Tall boots. Learning to love the art of the legging (I can care less if this is no longer considered “hip and trendy” – it’s um warm and functional with before-mentioned fab long sweaters!). Oh and jeans – high quality jeans. Can’t live without them.

32. What kept you sane? Friends. Family. Writing.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I always think Matt Damon’s pretty hot. Also like the faces attached to some names not thrown out as often, such as Bryan Greenberg and Barry Watson

34. What political issue stirred you the most? Ugh being around them 24/7 in DC. I’m an equal opportunity hater on that. So glad to be out of that arena.

35. Who did you miss? My friends in DC… my family being back in AL.

36. Who was the best new person you met? All of the new and wonderful people who have helped to make my transition to NYC so seamless. No one name can go here. Thank you all!

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007. Take chances. Don’t let fear hold you hostage and force you to stand still when it’s time to make a move.

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

4 thoughts on “2007 – a look back

  1. I think it’s so cool that you went to so many places in 2007…and also accomplished so many of your resolutions! Are you planning on doing a new list for 2008?

  2. Wow. How could I ever forget that soaked-to-the-core Wolf Trap concert in June? Eventful on a couple of accounts. And Dirty Dancing on the big screen; that was great fun – a remix from my February birthday hot tub DD viewing. And the wine tasting in Virginia.

    I am so pleased to have been mentioned a few times in this retrospective. It was a big year, full of major changes for both of us.

    Love,
    DrP

Leave a Reply

