weekend review: i’m gonna be popular!

So late last Friday night, MsH arrived into my humble abode in Manhattan. It was about 12:30 (yes, in the AM – you got it!). I had a nice small box of cupcakes from Buttercup Bakeshop and she came with a fine bottle of Malbec in hand. We popped in some episodes of Sex and the
City, and we had ourselves one nice Friday night in. It was like taking the best of the city and smuggling it into a 515 square foot radius. Oh and in PJs. How can you beat that? Even “staying in”, we probably did not actually shut our eyes until around 3:30, but what else would you
expect of two good friends who haven’t seen each other in some four months?

Saturday morning I’d made us 11AM reservations at Whym, the sister restaurant to Eatery. Unlike Eatery, they are apparently not too cool as of yet to allow for brunch reservations beyond 10:30, so I figured they warranted a go. It was so nice to get there before the rush came in. When we arrived it seemed almost a bit eerily ghost-town-ish, but all worry was for naught, as it was soon bustling with patrons in all directions. We opted for their bellini’s, which were absolutely fantastic. The peach juice was so fresh. Oh, drool. We both opted for sweeter selections from the menu, which definitely did not disappoint.

Afterwards, it was all about shopping in SoHo. And damage we did. I showed MsH the Young Designers Market you’ve heard me mention so much. Love it. She loved the jewelry there as much as I did. I came out with a beautiful necklace. She walked away with several purchases. We *loved* one of the designers who I had not seen before. As soon as her website is up and running, I’ll be sure to link to it here. Her jewelry was just so unique — very nice.

We hightailed it back to get ready to go for our Broadway show. Let me tell you, I was so excited to be finally going to my first Broadway show post-NYC move!! MsH and I had made the commitment in getting tickets to see Wicked. They didn’t come cheap, but they were worth every last dime. We’d planned on hitting John’s Pizzeria beforehand, but it was a madhouse. We instead ended up stopping by an Italian restaurant, Daniela’s Trattoria, en route to the Gershwin Theatre which wasn’t half-bad. You could tell they were used to dealing with patrons in a rush to get off to their shows, so the service was quick and accurate. Can’t beat that, now can you?

But most importantly, back to the show… so good! The actress performing the role of Elphaba, Stephanie Block, had the most amazing voice. She was the one who originally was in this role when the show was workshopped pre-Broadway, so I am so glad that we had the chance to see her perform. Glinda’s voice pitch was a little high for my taste at times (and that’s not a negative at all to her voice, but rather my personal preference!). Her character was funny though and definitely served to provide the much needed comic relief to offset the somewhat heavier content of what was going on with Elphaba’s character. I haven’t read the book so I can’t
draw a comparison from my own experience, but the consensus of those around us seemed to be that the musical was far superior to the book.

My absolute favorite song from the musical had to be “Popular” – primarily sung by Glinda’s character. Annaleigh Ashford is currently playing the role. She previously starred in Legally Blonde (I can see that…), but this song actually made me think of Clueless. (“Project!!!!” – Haha) Here’s a cute part from the song…

“Don’t be offended by my frank analysis
Think of it as personality dialysis
Now that I’ve chosen to be come a pal, a
Sister and adviser
There’s nobody wiser
Not when it comes to popular –
I know about popular
And with an assist from me
To be who you’ll bee
Instead of dreary who-you-were: are:
There’s nothing that can stop you
From becoming popu-
Ler: lar:

La la la la
We’re gonna make
You popular!”

And because this is getting to be a novela, I’m breaking this in two. I’ll be back after the break (and this will be tweaked with links and pics once I’m off the Blackberry…).

More after ballet…

5 thoughts on “weekend review: i’m gonna be popular!

  1. That’s so cool that you just went to your first Broadway show since moving to NYC! I just went to the Kennedy Center in DC for the first time ever tonight (to see a performance by the Alvin Ailey dance company), and it was so much fun! I definitely want to go back sometime soon. 🙂

  2. I had so much fun! and I”m loving keeping up with your blog now darlin’ So great…especially to read and recount our spectacular weekend together! xoxo

  3. Zan – I read your post. Sounds amazing! I’m hoping to catch Ailey’s show when the tour passes back through their home base here. It’s so easy to not check out all of those fabulous performing arts offerings, right??

    MsH – Glad you’re enjoying it, and thanks for your sweet sweet card. So glad you were able to come up and can’t wait to head back down! More to come too. Still haven’t yet done that yet – stay tuned 😉 Xoxo

  4. They are so good, right? Still have to try Eatery’s mac ‘n cheese. Heard it’s soooo good. Yes, you were the kind soul who introduced me to the Young Designer’s Market. Love LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

