dusting off the kitchen

So, when I saw Zandria’s recent post referencing a recipe for some vegan protein bars, I was intrigued. Because what do I eat every morning? Uhhhh, granola/breakfast bars. I think it’s too much to follow a strict vegan, raw, or whatever restricted diet possible. I like food and exploring all that the city has to offer (which I’m learning is a lot) and a restricted diet? Yeah, that would cramp my style 😉

But I do think that too much of pre-packaged food has too much funky stuff. When you can’t pronounce it and have no clue what it does to your foods, that’s not too great. I love the idea of Larabars and other options with simple ingredients — less than one line and limited to stuff like oats, fruits, and nuts. Makes sense, right? Unfortunately in Manhattan, a lot of time sense also equates into cents. Ughhhh.

I thought hmmm, this might just be a good thing to do – so I learned about the health food stores around my apartment (quite a few – definite plus to the city), all about new things like egg replacers (powder?!? who knew?!?), and that there are more protein powders than there are hair color varieties at the biggest Target.

I hope Zandria doesn’t mind if I share her recipe below. They came out good. My major issue was that I couldn’t um find the protein powder scoop? That, coupled with not filling the cup-load of the oatmeal to the brim, might be what led to mine coming out a tad on the soggy side. I did go with the pineapple below (I’m curious to try something different). I chose a vanilla-flavored protein powder and I actually went with almond milk rather than soy (I prefer it). It tasted like a more solid version of oatmeal. Not bad for round one. I’m curious to see if I can get it down better next go ’round, since Zan’s never had her’s come out so soggy as mine. Very good though – perhaps I can get this to be a regular thing!

VEGAN PINEAPPLE PROTEIN BARS

Dry Ingredients:
1 cup quick or whole oats (not instant)
6 flattened scoops of protein powder
1/2 cup vegan sugar (demerara)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons Ener-G Egg Replacer
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Wet Ingredients:
1/2 cup soy milk (or almond milk!)
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon white or cider vinegar
1 cup crushed pineapple packed in pineapple juice, undrained
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

Spray the bottom and sides of a 8×8-inch glass baking dish.

Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients together in a separate bowl, then combine with the dry. Do not overmix, but you can add a little bit more soymilk or water if needed. Batter should be thick. Pour into the prepared pan, pressing the batter down to form an even surface.

Bake at 350 F for 30-40 minutes. Store in refrigerator once cool.

Serves 9

Per serving: 171 calories; 1.5 g total fat; 17 g protein; 22 g carbohydrate; 0 mg cholesterol; 176 mg sodium; 1.2 g fiber.

7 thoughts on “dusting off the kitchen

  1. I’m a HUGE almond milk fan. In fact, I have a carton of almond breeze on my desk right now (i keep one at work and one at home). It’s delicious. Have you tried the chocolate kind?

  2. Yes I love Almond Breeze!! That’s what I’ve got. No, I haven’t tried the chocolate. I would imagine that’s delicious. I’ll have to pick some up 🙂

  3. Of course I don’t mind that you shared the recipe! I’m just glad you enjoyed it. I haven’t made those protein bars in quite a few months, so your post has inspired me to dust off my OWN kitchen tools! They definitely doesn’t get used nearly enough when I’m only cooking for myself. 🙂

  4. Zan – phew, glad no problemo 🙂 I just bought some little Ziploc plastic containers to carry them to work with me. Thought that might be good to give a whirl!

  5. Pingback: tree-hugger chocolate chip cookies « grits in the city

  6. So I’m a huge fan of high protein meals (breakfast especially). But I also am practically a crackhead for granola anything. I’ve been meaning to try my hand at some high protein bars, so this might have to do the trick. It will also get me to pick up almond milk, which I’ve been meaning to try for ages!

    PS I bet you could add roasted nuts, and stuff like flax seeds &/or wheat germ to bump up the fiber and yumminess.

  7. I bet flax would be a great addition! I need to try these again. I love almond milk. LOVE! I use it for smoothies and it adds a light nutty flavor that I like better than regular milk, and it definitely doesn’t taste as processed as soy milk. My favorite is a chocolate cherry smoothie – which is a banana, cup of frozen dark cherries, a scoop of chocolate protein powder, and about 1/2-3/4 cup of unsweetened chocolate almond milk. Totally yummy!!

Leave a Reply

