really necessary?

I was just at my friendly local D’Agostino’s when this lady stopped me in the middle of the produce. She smiled and started to speak. She pulled down on my shirt to read the text on my t-shirt, as she said “Hillary what??”.

She seemed non-confrontational and friendly, so I proceeded in responding, “Hillary is my homegirl!” as I smiled.

Her face scrunched up like she’d taken a bit of a lemon, as she glared back up at me. “Well, if you say so!” she barked back at me.

Seriously? Is this lady for real.

I breathed in.

“Um yes, I DO!”

Humph. See what I get for being nice to little old ladies in the produce section? So in response, yeah, I’m posting this pic again. Some people…

14 thoughts on “really necessary?

  1. Hey, you have the right to support the candidate of your choice. People in this country need to remember that and not be so narrow minded and divisive!! Hmm, I thought that was the way it was in a Democracy.

  2. Love it! You’re so feisty. And yes, even the little ol’ ladies in this town are inappropriately uppity at the wrong times.

  3. I totally agree. I think people should just be happy when others care enough to express an interest. And when they’re willing to stop and have a conversation with a stranger in the grocery store!

    HiClass – I think older people think they get to be crabby as much as they want and no one should respond. I politely disagree – haha.

  4. I’m not a big fan of Hillary either, but that old lady was just plain rude. You don’t approach non-confrontational strangers and cause trouble. How ridiculous. I’m sorry that happened to you, but yay for standing up for your beliefs! 🙂

  5. I agree. No reason to be nasty! Once she found out what it said, she could have just said “oh! okay” and left it at that. There was no need to editiorialize. I am all for standing up when attacked – in a civil way, of course 🙂

  6. I can’t believe someone acted like that to you. It’s not like you asked her to wear the shirt. Or even vote for her (although why would anyone NOT want to vote for her?!!). Crazy old lady!!

  7. Your Publix is my D’Agostino…sigh…

    Anyway. What a little old brat!! I love how older people complain that the young people don’t go out and vote – and then pick on those of us willing to express any interest in politics. Way to send a good message.

    You should have told her you would loan her your shirt to match the blue in her hair…regardless of if she had blue hair or not. 😀

  8. Annie – haha love the blue comment! Would have served her right, I’d say…

    Frances – thanks 🙂
    Waves back! (Figured was worth waiting for when I wasn’t waving through the horrid sea of Papally -obsessed peeps…

Leave a Reply

