weekend review: welcome back msh!

What a fun weekend. My goal this weekend was to keep things pretty low-key and I feel like it was mission accomplished. Friday was restaurant week at Cipriani Wall Street with the gals followed by drinks in the West Village. Saturday I ended up getting Dixie and checking out a street fair over by me. We walked a good ten blocks or so and then over three avenues, which she just loved. I got a fun sundress to wear next weekend in the Hampton’s and then we hit some other stores. Very successful afternoon of errands.

Saturday we met up with MsH, her man, and Tam at Wildwood, a place I’d been dying to check out since it opened. Reviews though had been all over the map, so I figured on it being one which you should wait and let the kinks settle out before trying. I have to say, I was pretty impressed. MsH and I shared a rack of ribs and I got myself a nice skillet of cornbread (“cornbread… ain’t nothing wrong with that!”). I did learn my fears about going on a date there were justified as I was a total mess with fingers caked in tasty spicy bbq sauce (which was the tasty gift that kept on giving – with my nose tingling and my sinuses voicing their outrage for several hours following).

We then went over to Macondo, which I had also been dying to try out for some time. The place was pretty loud and our server didn’t seem to want to interact with us much. Actually, come to think of it, had the same issue with the server at the bar at Morandi on Friday night. I’m not going to take it personally though. It was a great spot – definitely want to go back and try out the food at some point. Only surprising thing was their closing hour. I couldn’t help but graffiti a comment in the bathroom to that effect (hey… don’t give people chalk if you don’t wanna know). Anyhow, It was soooo good to see MsH and finally get to meet her new boyfriend. It was a perfect Saturday evening.

I’ll save today’s excursions for later. I’ve been sleeping on the couch with Dixie curled up into the crook behind my knee. Think it’s time to turn in early for good. Hope everyone had a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “weekend review: welcome back msh!

  1. Sigh…reading about your weekends always makes me desperately miss living in a part of the world where there are tons of fun things to do…

    The picture below of Dixie behind her barrier totally cracked me up!

  2. Are you saying there’s not tons of exciting things to do in AL? 🙂

    And thanks! Haha. I’m glad something finally worked on the barrier. Was beginning to doubt it would!!

Leave a Reply

