painting + music = ?

Have you ever seen a band perform where the backdrop was two artists who were… well… painting the whole show? The final band who performed last night at the Bowery Ballroom, Cloud Cult, was all about that. Hmmm. Not sure what I think about it. Sadly, I have better shots of the odd Medusa-like woman embracing the angel of death than the abstract number which was stage left. Music was good, but not sure I needed the visual. I loved the combo… from violin to cello to percussion to trombone to bass. Intriguing mix which worked well.

And of course we were there (at least me) for the opener, Mason Proper. Sadly, no photos but an excellent show. Definitely up a notch from when I saw them for CMJ at Rehab (the bar whose name never ceases to make me laugh). Angelina and I chatted with the band some, one member who recommended some foodie stuff in the city I’ve yet to explore. Looking forward to checking that out.

I’ve been enjoying my night in. Two grocery stores and one massive load of chocolate covered pretzels and I’m d-o-n-e!

Leave a Reply

