imported gobble gobble

This will be the second time my family will be doing Thanksgiving at my place, even though the address of my apartment has since changed. My kitchen’s even smaller than the one before, seeing as it basically just opens out completely into the living area. It’s perfect for me and my non-existent cooking (save those occasional party snacks), but definitely less than ideal for a full-on Thanksgiving meal.

So instead this year we’re ordering in, hopefully with better results than our pitiful attempts last year with Jive Turkey (oh Jive, how do I despise thee?). This time we’re getting the whole thing though… turkey, stuffing, sweet potato mash, mac ‘n cheese, cornbread, and a gingerbread snap pumpkin pie (ohhhh snap!).

It’ll be strange not to have my mom’s standard fare. I think I’ve had it every year with the exception of the year my sister was in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. That year it was dinner at a friend’s and then back to the monstrous empty house where I was creeped out and
fell asleep to David Letterman. Nothing functions like a safety blanket like David Letterman.

But this year I’m happy my mom gets a full vacation too. And that my Dix will be back for the festivities to beg for food – haha. I’m looking forward to it.

Sent from my iPhone

One thought on “imported gobble gobble

  1. It’ll still be nice, even though you guys are bringing dinner in. Like you said, you don’t have room in your kitchen, your parents are technically on vacation…seems like a good idea.

    And Dixie will finally be home! Hooray! 🙂

Leave a Reply

