air and simple gifts

I just love this. I held back my want to scream as the song flowed into “Appalachian Spring” by Aaron Copeland, one of my all-time favorites. We finally found somewhere in our office building to watch it up on the 8th floor on our TV that usually plays the headlines. We crammed in there. I was the first to plop down, front and center Indian style, as to have a perfect view of the Inauguration.

I also loved that our department head was wearing a sweatshirt which had been bejeweled with Barack Obama’s face on the back, and something regarding “Hope” across the front bottom portion, just across that oh-so-important pocket in which you can stuff your hands. Apparently it’s the new trend here as Bar Mitzvah favors. Who knew?

Anyhow, if you missed it, this is great. Just great. And afterwards? You should head to iTunes and get “Appalachian Spring”. It’s lengthy but good. Oh so good. As a matter of fact, I auditioned for high school drum major to it! I guess Obama and I now have a common thread. Love it.

3 thoughts on “air and simple gifts

  1. and who cares if they played along with a tape? Wood/string instruments do not function well in the extreme could — unlike Brittney’s voice that malfunctions in all temps!

  2. I didn’t know they had a tape accompanying because honestly I think I was so focused on the performers shown in the frame I didn’t think to mind. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

