movies, movies, movies!

Ok so I went to see “Ghosts of Girlfriends Past”, which was hands down one of the WORST chick-flicks I’ve ever seen. Ugh. Gag. It wasn’t my choice, but I really wanted to catch up with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while and once I was promised there would be popcorn involved, I was sold. However, there was this old man in the theater who began to audibly snore about halfway through the movie (which made me think of the man who did this during “The Reader”, after the half of the movie where Kate Winslet opts not to wear clothes, naturally). Perhaps even more annoying was when his cellphone went off and he picked it up and proceeded to have a phone call in the theater. Who pays $12.50 for a movie and then sleeps and talks on the phone through it? Oh and then his wife/girlfriend/something-or-other told him to step out and take the call. What did she do when her phone rang? Sat and talked from her seat as well. Ridiculous.

Anyhow, I’ve discovered why I enjoy watching movies in the theater so much. At home, I am always trying to do too many things at one time. I’m usually playing fetch with Dixie. I’m uploading photos… I’m trying to clean… I’m blogging… I’m talking on the phone… I’m doing whatever combination of the above while trying to watch a movie, which usually means to a big fat fail and my ending up having to watch the movie at least a second time. It’s easier just to see it once!

So there are a lot of things coming up which I’m excited about. There was a preview today for “My Sister’s Keeper“, and I started tearing up since the book it’s based on totally made me cry my eyes out. It looks great though – Abigail Bresslyn, Cameron Diaz, Jason Patric… all good.

I think the one I’m most excited about is “Away We Go”. Jim from “The Office”. Yum. It looks just so good. The preview had me sold immediately. “The Proposal” with Ryan Reynolds and Sandra Bullock looks good too. If we have another run of rain-o-rama in June like we did last week, you know where you’ll find me. Next up though is definitely “Angels and Demons”. Anyone seen any good movies lately?

Leave a Reply

