blend this!

I finally caved and got a blender. Well, it’s more than a blender. It’s the Cuisinart blender/food processor combo. Love it!! I couldn’t wait to buy some stuff and, well, blend away! A friend of mine recommended this smoothie she loves. It makes a lot and she splits it among 2-3 days. I was intrigued.

  • 1/2 large container (32 ounces) of plain non-fat yogurt
  • 1 cup fruit (I used frozen cherries)
  • 1 really ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup 100% bran
  • 1/2 cup plain oatmeal (uncooked)
  • skim milk-up to you based on how thick you want the shake (I just used probably 1/4 cup or less of almond milk)

So good! She said it tasted sort of like cherry cheesecake, and she was right. Yum. I like sweets a lot, so I actually added in about 3-4 packets of Truvia to make it a little sweeter. I’ve heard it’s almost better the second day because it thickens. I’ll have to report back.

Ta Da! The end result in its glory.


Do you make smoothies? I’m looking for suggestions. Please share your favorite recipes in the comments. What’s in your blender?

One thought on “blend this!

  1. I love my blender!

    My favorite smoothie recipe is very basic:

    1 banana
    10-12 strawberries
    Splash of OJ
    1/4 – 1/2 a cup of milk.
    Ice

    Blend, mix, voila! The 'real' recipe of that calls for yogurt, but I'm not a big fan of yogurt in my smoothies.

Leave a Reply

