dish buzz: tre

Tre, Lower East Side

Tre, Lower East Side

With my mom in town, I was looking for a new restaurant to try which wasn’t too expensive for dinner. Tre’s a spot which often comes up, yet somehow I’ve never been there. Sunday through Thursday, they offer a $19 prix fixe dinner option, which includes an appetizer main course, and dessert. I couldn’t resist this option as I wanted to try as much as possible from the menu.

Calamari Antipasti, Tre

Calamari Antipasti, Tre

For my appetizer, I elected to go with the ravioli fritti over the other options, which included the soup of the day and a spinach salad. The ravioli was pillows filled with ricotta, small thin pieces of salami, and black pepper. The outside casing was thin, fried, and made me think of a lighter version of a won ton. Very flavorful and not overwhelmingly heavy. I highly recommend it. My sister chose the fried calamari. It was covered in a thin, slightly crispy, Parmigiano crust and was served with a romesco sauce which was slightly tangy. This one was not included in on the prix fixe options. It is mid-range in their antipasti options at $11, but is a very large sized portion. Perfect for sharing.

The Bar, Tre

The Bar, Tre

For my main dish, I chose the mezzi rigatoni con polpette – short rigatoni pasta which was served with lamb mini meat balls and tomato sauce. The pasta was fresh and thick. The lamb meatballs were flavorful and moist. They also do a special on Monday nights – $19 for unlimited sangria and spaghetti and meatballs. After my main course, I am very curious to give this a try. My sister’s penne all’arrabbiata looked excellent as well. It was a very generous portion at $10 – excellent value.

Tiramisu, Tre

Tiramisu, Tre

For dessert, I could not resist the tiramisu. I was very impressed. The marscapone was thick and creamy and the espresso was subtle, much appreciated as this is often overdone and overpowers the rest of the dish. And somehow, I managed to walk away not feeling like this one was heavy. Well done. This is a cute, quaint spot. Not very large but yet not overcrowded. This is a perfect place if you want to be able to hear your dining companion (always a plus in my book). Also a great date spot that won’t hit the wallet too hard.

Tre – 173 Ludlow Street (at East Houston) – 212.353.3353 – Reservations Optional

Leave a Reply

