9 to 5

This past Friday night my sister and I went with our mom to see 9 to 5. I made sure to finally see the movie beforehand (I’m big on seeing or reading the original work before it’s made into something else – which is why I’m super determined to finally finish reading Atonement so I can actually see the movie). After having been in the nosebleed seats for Phantom of the Opera, my mom was insistent on sitting in the orchestra section. I must say, it definitely is the way to go. I was able to swing some discounted tickets (if only I could do the same for the other show I’m dying to see, Billy Elliot). The Marquis Theatre was interesting compared to other theatres I’ve been to on Broadway. It’s the only one I’ve been to which was in a hotel (we didn’t know where we were going). It was nice though because it wasn’t too small, but yet it wasn’t ginormous like the one is for Phantom.

I thought the cast made for a really strong ensemble. I wasn’t sure what I thought about Allison Janney in a musical. Could she sing? Oh heck yeah she could! I can totally see parallels between her and Lily Tomlinson and she had just the right amount of backbone for the Violet Newstead role. I hadn’t caught somehow before that Stephanie Block was playing the role of Judy Bernley. She is just amazing… I saw her as Elphaba in Wicked and the strength of her voice is just indescribable. There’s one song, “Get out and Stay Out” she performs in the show where I just had goosebumps. I’ll definitely have to get the soundtrack. And I’m sorry, but I didn’t think anyone could be convincing as Dolly Parton’s Doralee Rhodes. I stand corrected. Megan Hilty is dead-on – her accent is on-point consistently throughout the dialogue and the songs. I absolutely loved “Backwoods Barbie”. I already downloaded it off of Ms. Parton’s own personal album, but want to get the show version too.

If you aren’t already signed up for TicketMania, I highly recommend it. That’s how I found these tickets at a slightly reduced rate. The musical kind of made me sad when I went back into work that no one was singing or dancing in my office. Well done though. True to the movie and definitely just the right amount of jazzed up for the Broadway stage.

One thought on “9 to 5

  1. Pingback: 2009: year in review « grits in the city

Leave a Reply

