sweet news of local honey

I’m really getting into my local honey. My parents first picked up a container of it for me when they were here a few months back. I’d always heard it was supposed to be good for allergies (and goodness knows I need all the help I can get). I was once upon a time going to start taking allergy shots and then I ended up moving from DC to NYC and that just never happened. And now with me going to Doctor Earth Mama, she’s much more into the idea of recommending I get poked with pins versus needles. She wants me to try acupuncture for everything. Now, while I’m not totally averse to the idea, it never seems appealing somehow as I’m sitting on the exam table in her office at 8am. Perhaps it’s because the layer of fog over my eyes hasn’t yet lifted so the idea of being poked by sharp objects just makes me nauseous. But now something natural like local honey? Even Doctor Earth Mama would be on board.

An article by Tom Ogren summarizes the rationale behind this phenomenon. He explains, “Honey contains bits and pieces of pollen and honey, and as an immune system booster, it is quite powerful.” He continues, “When people living in these same areas eat honey that was produced in that environment, the honey will often act as an immune booster. The good effects of this local honey are best when the honey is taken a little bit (a couple of teaspoons-full) a day for several months prior to the pollen season. When I’m asked how local should the honey be for allergy prevention I always advise to get honey that was raised closest to where you live, the closer the better since it will have more of exactly what you’ll need”.

This one guy’s article was interesting. I cannot tell from the article if he’s a doctor or just a random guy like you or I, but he claimed one of the people coming to him for allergy advice noted he was able to mow his lawn during peak hay season in London as a result of using local honey on a regular basis. Reason to hope, I say.

I’m much more prone to sweet addictions your doctor probably wouldn’t get behind (see my endless posts on cupcakes around Manhattan and beyond), but one recent one they would support. I’ve discovered somewhere along the way that I love yogurt. Um in a major way. Add some sliced up fresh fruit? Heaven! Even heated up frozen chunks from Trader Joe’s is pure heaven. Maybe even a dash of granola. Sometimes I throw it in a blender (as you know I’m loving doing with just about everything these days). And lately, I’m crowning it off with a drizzle of my local honey. It’s my answer to the Greek yogurt and honey thing. Yeah! We in Manhattan can do it to you know (not everything in Europe has to be better!).

I’ve been reading it also can be good to help with stomach issues (morning sickness, for those who this would apply to – not me personally, but interesting). I actually have IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) and I’ve found since I’ve embraced yogurt, my problems have been less pervasive. I’ll admit yes, I am still taking my daily meds for the issue, but it seems in better balance. Perhaps I’ll try weaning myself off just to see. Curious.

If you think about it, there are countless little ways you could add a little bit of local honey into your diet. Perhaps in place of artificial sweeteners. Perhaps as an accent to an afternoon snack (sliced apples, almond butter, and a drizzle of honey). Or, as I’ve done, a sweet accent to your smoothie or yogurt. If you’ve never tried it, I highly recommend it. While it is a little bit more expensive, it’s well worth it. I find the flavor much richer and similar yet unique to your standard honey.

Have any of you with allergies tried the local honey route?

Leave a Reply

