cool on your island

I think this is my all-time favorite Tori Amos song, which is ironic seeing as it was when she was in an 80’s band, hair teased out in every direction possible, sword in hand, totally clueless she’d ultimately end up where she did. I just love it. It’s a raw song. It’s a song that I like in it’s original form but perhaps it’s because I have more of a personal connection to it live that I’ve really come to love the live versions far more than the heavily synthethized 80’s version. It’s more raw. The focus is on the lyrics, and that’s where I think they should be.

Anyhow, my new friend Reagan, who came all the way in from Phoenix, is the one who shot these lovely videos. We met at the meet & greet (along with the other fabulous MeeGees) and she was out in Boston for the final show as a present from her partner. She and her brother were the devoted beginning mark of the line-up which grew throughout the day… and ironically they were seated right next to Jill and I for the show. If you’ve never heard the song, let the two clips load. See what you think about them. Hopefully you’ll find this song as fabulous as I do. Always makes me tear up….

If you don’t treat me better
Baby, I’ll just run away
Baby, i don’t know what drives you
To play all these silly games
C’mon, baby
I’m much stronger than you know
Sometimes
I’m not afraid to let it show

When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But I can take
Only so much
Cool on your island
Is it cool on your island

I gotta brand new dress, babe
Could it make you wanna try
I guess I didn’t want to notice
The stars gone from your eyes
C’mon, baby
I’m much stronger than you know
Sometimes
I’m not afraid to let it show

When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But I can take
Only so much
Cool on your island
Is it cool on your island

We could buy an airplane
Build a home in the sand
You could tell your secrets
I could understand
But then by the morning
Comes crumblin’ down
And as your leavin’
Wait

When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But i can take
Only so much
Cool on your island
You’re so cool on your island
Is it cool on your island
Is it cool, baby

If you don’t treat me better
Baby I’ll just run away
If you don’t
Treat me
One day
You’ll wake up cold
Then you’ll know
You’ll know
You’ll know
You love me

Check out more of Reagan’s videos here on YouTube. I’ll probably post another one shortly. Just too good not to share!

Leave a Reply

