asap gourmet: grilled chicken & whole wheat couscous

I’m the first to tell you I”m not the cook I’d probably have thought I would have been by the time I’m knocking on age 30. In part because I’m still living solo but also due to my dining out so frequently, my busy schedule, and just living in the middle of a busy city. Excuses aside though, I decided it was well past time for me to figure out how to make my way towards cooking – even within my limited time and space constraints.

I grew up in a family where my mom was always cooking amazing things. We’d sit down at night to a made-from-scratch meal, the composition which has just not been practical thus far for me, so I think I’d resigned myself to being incapable of cooking. But I’ve decided that’s not right. I can cook something. It doesn’t take much at all to whip up something which once assembled, is not half-bad. As this blog is fairly focused on food, I thought this would be a good feature to bring over here as I begin to discover some easy combinations. I’ve decided to call it “ASAP Gourmet” because what can I say – sometimes it’s time to eat and ASAP.

This week’s creation is grilled chicken with whole wheat couscous. It took less than 10 minutes, and made enough for me to eat off of three times this week. Upside? I think it tasted better reheated than the original. That’s always a plus. And the ingredients were simple:

  • Grilled Chicken (I went with pre-cooked from Trader Joe’s – you could use whatever you wish)
  • Whole Wheat Couscous (Required 2 tablespoons butter, water, and a bit of salt)

And voilà! One easy, tasty meal. Highly recommend this one.

Grilled Chicken & Whole Wheat Couscous

Grilled Chicken & Whole Wheat Couscous

Leave a Reply

