mojito mania

The only thing I’ve ever successfully made in the kitchen is a mess. And several small fires. –  Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City

A few weeks back, I decided I was going to learn how to make mojitos. Not only was I going to learn how to make mojitos, but I was also going to slightly tweak the icing for a batch of sugar cookies so that they matched. Simple enough, right?

A friend of mine recommended a video online that outlined the mojito making process. Not bad. Not bad. Looked simple enough. I watched the guy in the video, pushed pause when it came to the recipe (the mixing is about 6 minutes into the video with the recipe flashing up at the end), and I was set.

First off, I did not have a juicer. No big deal, I thought. I have enough limes for an army, but I figured I could easily squeeze out the juice into the bowl and have more than enough for several mojitos. Well yes, technically I could. What I didn’t realize was how hard it would be to do that to each half or quarter of a lime. At the end of the process, I had one large measuring cup full of lime juice, two throbbing wrists, and at least three fingers stinging from the lime juice. But the fresh smell of the lime juice was so perfect that it was so so worth it.

Until the fall…

See this?

This would be what my kitchen looked like at this point. As I reached to begin to pull together the ingredients for the mojito, I managed to knock over the lime juice, which fell all over my trash can and across the floor, causing me to jump back and dump out the entire contents of my dog Dixie’s water bowl. Lime juice FAIL.

After I spent about 20 minutes cleaning up all of the mess of the above, I found myself headed in to the grocery store to buy a small container of lime juice. Not as good as the fresh, but until I get a juicer, it’s definitely the way to go. I returned and was finally able to get the mojito together. The first one didn’t come out quite right, leading me to experiment and ultimately decide that I just needed to have allowed enough time for the simple syrup to cool, so it thickened more than the runnier version I was using in my first attempt at the mojito. By the end, they were coming out quite good. I’d be curious to try another variation on the recipe as I found this one to be a bit tart. Perhaps too heavy on the lime juice?

For the sugar cookies, I’ll confess I did go with the frozen version of the dough simply as a shortcut. For the icing, I mixed together confectioners sugar and milk, including just a bit of milk until it reached the right consistency so it would not be too runny. I took what little was left of the unspilled lime juice and added just a couple of drops into the mixture. I added one quick drop of mint extract and a couple of drops of green food coloring. I added in some shredded up mint leaves thinking that would perhaps add a bit of a minty taste to the mix, but found it a bit visually distracting in the cookies where that was noticable. It almost made them look like there was trash in those (so not the case!) so I’d not add that in next time around.

The Finished Product

The Finished Product

2 thoughts on “mojito mania

  1. No worries. I think it’s quite funny now. And sadly, a lot of my cooking adventures end up in lots of spills, things falling, and a little puppy licking her lips!

    I’m going to try to cook more and will definitely document more adventures here 🙂

Leave a Reply

