dish buzz: braeburn

Braeburn - West Village

Braeburn - West Village

Recently I was looking for a restaurant for dinner before my birthday party in the West Village. There were several spots I was contemplating that I ultimately nixed since they were either too loud or, sadly, had gone out of business. I ended up opting to visit Braeburn, a restaurant which had been on my “must try” list for forever that I’d somehow never made it over to try. The cab dropped us off and I was instantly concerned we should have been at Greenwich Avenue and not Greenwich Street, as the area seemed too quiet and too residential. But it was there. Tucked in the corner we found the restaurant.

Arugula Salad and Sangria - Braeburn

Arugula Salad and Sangria - Braeburn

I’d forgotten how nice it can be to dine on the earlier side in the city. Instead of being cramped up against someone else at one of the regular two-tops, we were seated at one of the larger end tables in one of the corners. One of the first things I noticed were the servers, who were dressed nicely but were also wearing jeans. I felt that was a theme which mirrored their food – classy and refined but yet not too far out of reach. My friend ordered their lamb, which they advised us would take some time to cook. They first brought us out plates of herbed biscuits and butter (and kindly brought out another plate upon request). The chef also sent out a complimentary arugula salad since we would be waiting a bit. The salad was very fresh and was a nice accent to their white sangria, which included some fabulous fresh blackberries in the assortment of fruit.

Butter Poached Lobster, Braeburn

Butter Poached Lobster, Braeburn

For my main course, I went with the Butter Poached Lobster, which was served a top a bed of roasted corn and a caramelized onion sauce. Lobster for me is somewhat hit or miss, as I find it’s sometime rubbery or that the sauce that it’s been paired with is lacking in bringing anything to the dish. This one was well done. Now that we’re well into September and stepping into fall, the more summery dishes like this are on the way out, so this was exactly what I was looking for. The corn was a nice balance to the lobster, and the caramelized onion sauce added a little salty-sweet flavor to the dish. For dessert, we went with the plum cobbler. I thought plum was an interesting selection for a cobbler. Being from the South, I’ve had about all varieties of cobbler, but this was definitely my first plum experience. It came out piping hot and I have to say, I really liked it. It wasn’t as sweet as a blueberry, blackberry or even apple cobbler. It was a subtle sweet. The crust which formed the outer portion of the cobbler was a nice solid layer, topped off by a large scoop of house made vanilla ice cream.

Overall, I highly recommend Braeburn. I will definitely be back to try some of their other offerings. I especially recommend this if you’re looking for a spot for a special occasion dinner or are wanting a location quiet enough for conversation, as it’s perfect for either.

Braeburn – 117 Perry Street (at Greenwich Street) – 212. 255. 0696 – Reservations Recommended

Leave a Reply

