tortilla-crusted chicken

I promise I’m keeping up with my #10in10 goal to cook more healthy, well-balanced meals (hello dessert section in my cookbooks – I see you looking at me, and I’ll return to you shortly…). Working on some other writing though has distracted me from properly documenting the process over here to share, which is something I’m going to try to be better about as I play a little catch up.

Tortilla-crusted chicken

Tortilla-crusted chicken

One of my recent favorite attempts was so easy, it made me wonder why on earth I don’t cook more often. All you need are some chicken breasts, your trusty spices, and some multi-grain tortilla chips. Oh, and salsa if you want to add it on as a garnish atop the chicken at the end (I did and enjoyed it – it added a bit of a kick. I’m a fan of Rosa Mexicana’s chipotle salsa – adds a ton of zing, for sure). I found this over on Eat Better America, where they do things like add whole grains rather than bleached flours and just try to add a better for you spin on regular comfort foods. I like multi-grain better, so found this change actually added some additional flavor in the process.

Ingredients

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 cup finely crushed multigrain tortilla chips
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 egg (I used EggBeaters as a substitute)
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (1 to 1 1/4 pounds total)
  • Shredded romaine (optional – I skipped this)
  • Salsa (optional – Editorial, I think it’d be a tad dry without this)
  • Avocado slices (optional – I skipped this as well)
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat a 15x10x1-inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray; set aside. In a shallow dish combine tortilla chips, oregano, cumin, and pepper. Place egg in another shallow dish; beat lightly. Dip chicken in beaten egg, then coat with tortilla chip mixture.
  2. Arrange chicken in the prepared baking pan. Bake about 25 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink (170°F). If desired, serve chicken on a bed of shredded romaine with salsa and avocado slices.

I actually halved the recipe and it made plenty for two people. I wasn’t sure how the portion size would end up being, so I wanted to make enough just in case. The bulk of the time for this was just waiting for the chicken to cook! I had leftover spinach salad, which was perfect along with this main course. Definitely a #10in10 win!

4 thoughts on “tortilla-crusted chicken

Leave a Reply

