anatomy of an “almost catch”

Saturday was disgusting. Absolutely foul. It was a day only acceptable if you can remain inside the confines of your apartment, with no need to even think of walking outside. Sadly, my Saturday was filled with plans, so I pulled on my Uggs and set out with my gym bag. I learned two important things – when it’s gonna crazy rain, definitely don’t wear Uggs. And similarly, don’t carry a gym bag made of vinyl. Double fail.

At least the fails ended with the rain though. Unlike our last visit to Trapeze New York, Meg and I had a wonderful day flying! I was excited to finally get the set split (take that, mental block!) and came mighty mighty close to doing a successful catch coming out.

(videos/pics after the break)

Working my way from position 1 to the final...

Working my way from position 1 to the final...

Arching through to the final position

Arching through to the final position

Reaching out for the catch

Reaching out for the catch

Oh so close...

Oh so close...

And... clap?!?

And... clap?!?

Oooops. So close :)

Oooops. So close 🙂

Now that you’ve seen the play-by-play, here’s how it went in real-time, complete with Meg’s voice coaching me along and gasping at the end (my favorite)…

I might have been soggy and a bit cranky for the walk home, but  not even my soggy snapped polka dot umbrella (RIP) could keep me down from a good day up in the air!

2 thoughts on “anatomy of an “almost catch”

Leave a Reply

