tul-lu’s bakery

When I saw there was a new gluten-free bakery opening up in the East Village, I was curious to check them out. Especially to compare them to the other main gluten-free option I frequent, Babycakes.  Tu-lu’s Gluten-Free Bakery is on the smaller side, though there are stools and a small counter running around the perimeter of the store if you wanna stay. I opted to grab mine and go. Warning, if you do the same, keep your hands pretty steady. There was a minor cupcake avalanche inside my box. Almost a sweet catastrophe. You can either choose a regular sized cupcakes or you can choose to do three minis, which was my choice. That way I could try one of each!

Tully's Bakery - East Village

Tully's Bakery - East Village

Watch out for falling cupcakes...

Watch out for falling cupcakes...

So small! Fingers in the frame to show the scale.

So small! Fingers in the frame to show the scale.

The verdict?

First up was the chocolate cake with peanut butter icing. The cake was moist, moreso than I find the cake at Babycakes to be. Deefinitely a plus. It was on the more bitter side, so those not fans of uber sweet sweets take notice! The peanut butter frosting was on the saltier side and was not very sweet at all. Overall it was very good.

Second was the vanilla cake with strawberry icing. I was very underwhelmed by the cake as it was pretty dry and didn’t have a lot of flavor to it at all. The icing was only slightly strawberry flavored, but was good. It was the most fluffy of the three and was very creamy. I really wanted to be able to rewind and custom request this icing on the chocolate cake – but alas, they do not do custom mixes nor do they have this combo. Sad.

Third was their red velvet cake with cream cheese icing. I think this one was my favorite. The cake was more moist than the chocolate cake and the cream cheese icing was verrrrry cream cheesey, which I love. It was on the sweeter side, which was a nice balance to the cake which was not very sweet.

Next time, I’ll have to try the brownies…

(Note this post was revised to reflect Tu-lu’s rather than Tully’s. I’ve learned they’ve since had to change the name as someone else owned the copyright.)

Tu-lu’s Gluten-Free Bakery – 338 East 11th Street – 212.777.2227

One thought on “tul-lu’s bakery

Leave a Reply

