holey cream

Holey Cream - Hell's Kitchen

Holey Cream - Hell's Kitchen

I’d been curious about this one for a while. A friend of mine who lives nearby to Holey Cream summarized it as “gluttony at its finest”. What they do is to take something not entirely healthy – donuts (hello fried dough!) and allow you to take it even further in the unhealthy direction, slathering it first with your icing of choice and then allowing you to cake on as many toppings as you’d like (Reeses Cups! Oreos! M&Ms! Sprinkles!). Somehow I don’t think they will be adopting that as their slogan tomorrow, but it isn’t far from the truth. 

Not enough? Well, have no fear. There’s another option. A sandwich. Oh yes. A DONUT sandwich. For this, they’ll slice that plain donut into two, like a bagel, and plop your ice cream of choice in that donuts mid-section. The whole icing and toppings concept carries through here as well. Options. So many options. 

Holey Cream

Holey Cream

In theory, this sounded kinda cool. They had a ton of toppings, a large selection of ice cream, and so the combinations were endless. I wasn’t up to tackle the sandwich but decided to customize myself a donut. I went chocolate crazy, going with chocolate icing, Reeses Cups, and chocolate sprinkles. 

Taking a bite of my “end product” proved a bit involved, with the Reeses Cups toppling to the sides with each and every bite. Grrrrr. I took my fork and emphatically chiseled away at the donut monstrosity, until I realized, hey. This isn’t actually that good. Sure, I loved the idea of chocolate on top of chocolate on top of, well, chocolate – but the donut was really dry. Pretty gross actually. And proved a filling unnecessary addition to the mix. So I ended up scraping my toppings off and skipping the donut altogether. Now given we did come in at the end of the day, so perhaps the donuts are more fresh in the morning. But should they be that stale by closing time? If you’re going to give them a try, I’d recommend opting early evening at the latest. Sadly, don’t think I’ll be back to pay them another visit.

My "Creation" - Holey Cream

My "Creation" - Holey Cream

Holey Cream – 796 9th Ave (between 52/53rd St) – 212.247.8400

3 thoughts on “holey cream

  1. Its unfortunate that the owner refuses to pay over 7 employees since the stores opening in December. Please don’t support Free Labor.

  2. I have heard the same about the owner. I witnessed him yelling at his employees for not cleaning something up fast enough. Don’t support stores that don’t pay their workers.

  3. Hi there,
    I’m opening a similar concept shop and will indeed pay my employees and treat them with the respect which I expect from anyone. can you tell me how he makes his donuts? I know he doesn’t have a big machine…does he pre freeze them?
    For any valid info, I’m happy to compensate with freebies at my new place!

Leave a Reply

