a nod to jimmy dean

The elusive Hot Jimmy Dean Sausage

The elusive Hot Jimmy Dean Sausage

 

There are certain areas where I notice my Southern roots when grocery shopping – the major one being sausage. Sausage here I’ve quickly learned is more of the savory variety – not so much geared towards the breakfast variety, and more towards the Italian-what’s-for-dinner picks. I was sad to learn of Jimmy Dean’s recent passing since when I think of breakfast meats, well clearly I think of this little package you see here to the side. Jimmy Dean. Done deal. And it’s strange to me that all people don’t have that association as to me, it’s as synonymous with breakfast sausage as Kleenex it to facial tissues. Although I’ve been sad to find it’s rare to see Mr. Dean up North in the freezer and this here hot variety? Downright impossible to see. 

I’ve mentioned before my sausage ball recipe I bring to lots of parties – it used to be more a cold-weather variety (this is usually what we eat in my family while we’re waiting for my mom to polish off preparing our main meat – usually turkey – a fabulous noshing snack with a kick) but I’ve since brought it to just about everything, from a pre-Hoboken St. Paddy’s Brunch to a Super Bowl party. I thought it was appropriate in honor of Mr. Dean that we all pause for a moment and think of glorious sausage… and that I share this again with you all. It never fails to be a party pleaser. Enjoy. 

  • 1 pound hot sausage
  • 2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 cups Bisquick (biscuit) mix
This is how they look (prior to cooking)

This is how they look (prior to cooking)

 

Allow cheese to come to room temperature. Combine all ingredients (easier done by hand). Shape into one inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes. Serve immediately or may be frozen for future use. Makes 40-50 balls. 

(Lara’s notes… so easy to freeze and they last for quite a long time this way. I think 40-50 balls is a bit steep on estimation. I think it made slightly less, but more than enough!)

One thought on “a nod to jimmy dean

Leave a Reply

