dusting of the sand

This week, I’m playing catch-up. I have so many new posts to come that I haven’t been able to tackle the order yet – so I concede I’m very much behind. I just arrived back from over a week off for vacation, which I spent on what I maintain is one of the beaches in the US – Destin, Florida. After all that has happened in the Gulf, from the oil spill to hurricanes, it was nice to see it looking good and to frequent some of the sites and vendors who have felt a pronounced pinch in their pockets. It was a perfect break, during which I read almost all of Stieg Larsson’s trilogy (love them – highly recommend) and ate at many fabulous restaurants (which you’ll see on here shortly). I had ambitious plans to finalize some revisions on my memoir as well as to start a new work, but those fell off the radar as my back-side met the sand.

One of the countless friendly seagulls along our beach area in Destin

One of the countless friendly seagulls along our beach area in Destin

 

Sunset in Destin

Sunset in Destin

Spoiled by homemade cooking (these are my mom's fried green tomatoes)

Spoiled by homemade cooking (these are my mom's fried green tomatoes)

Dixie and I, all smiles from the beach

Dixie and I, all smiles from the beach

And now, time to put the flip-flops aside and pull out the tall boots. Halloween straight ahead (costumes for all) and there’s a holiday card to plan. Hope you’re all enjoying fall so far! A kernel of candy corn for you all…

One thought on “dusting of the sand

  1. Pingback: 2010: a charmed year in review « grits in the city

Leave a Reply

