doughnut plant, king of manhattan’s donuteries

Apple Cinnamon Donut

Apple Cinnamon Donut

Before a recent outing to the Doughnut Plant’s actual store down on Grand, I’d only had the offerings you are able to pick up at Joe the Art of Coffee. There you can usually find their coconut cream/coconut glaze donut and I’ve occasionally seen their blackout donut. And while I will agree it’s not a bad alternative, the real deal? Can’t be beat. Now I’ve talked about donuts before. I’ve talked about some I enjoyed as well as some I found to be incredibly underwhelming. Many sing the praises of Bouchon Bakery and while I enjoyed theirs, I still say (and now more emphatically) the Doughnut Plant is where it’s at.

So many choices...

So many choices...

When we arrived, we saw a sign proclaiming it was “apple day” in honor of fall, highlighting their organic apple cinnamon donut.  Seeing as the entire place smelled of it from the moment we walked through the front door, I couldn’t resist trying. I don’t like donuts to be too overwhelmingly cakey (which is my main complaint against Bouchon, aside from the ridiculous waiting game/process required to obtain it as well), so I thought the thickness of the Doughnut Plant’s is just right. It tasted like you were biting into a fresh apple pie – like as in off the tree fresh – yet it was somehow a donut. Flavor nailed.

They also have quite a few other intriguing options i will be back to try. There’s the Vanilla Bean Glazed Peanut Butter & Jelly Donut (is there any better combo?) as well as their Valhrona Chocolate Donut. Oh my. See, I knew there was a reason I’d tried to avoid going as long as possible. This is one seal that’s dangerous once broken…

Highly recommend. (I now want a donut)

Their Donut Tile

Their Donut Tile

Doughnut Plant – 379 Grand Street (at Norfolk Street)  – 212.505.3700

4 thoughts on “doughnut plant, king of manhattan’s donuteries

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention doughnut plant, the king of manhattan’s donuteries « grits in the city -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

