flurries in the air

I’m not a fan of winter. I always say I live in NYC because I love it so much in spite of being forced to serve my time annually – “time” being the 3.5 months of cold temperatures. No tank tops then. Oh no. It’s all sweaters, boots, gloves (which I lose as quickly as I replenish), and hats (the worst – if you see me wearing one, know I’m waving the ultimate of all white flags).

But I have my moments. Times when I walk outside and take a breath in and can feel the snow readying to make it’s way in. Or moments like today, when the number of flakes are far outnumbered in comparisons to the flake-free seconds that have passed, but where you kind of think for a moment you could get excited about the whole winter-season-thing. But those few flakes happen to fall across the scene just perfectly in front of holiday decorations.

And there moments where, even though you’re in the midst of tourist mobs, that NYC’s most popular holiday spots are just plain beautiful.

Rockefeller Center - Christmas Tree

Rockefeller Center - Christmas Tree

Rockefeller Center - Christmas Tree

Rockefeller Center - Christmas Tree

Lobby of the Time Warner Center

Lobby of the Time Warner Center

2 thoughts on “flurries in the air

  1. You’re right – even with the solid wall of tourists surrounding the tree for blocks, it’s lovely. I fought my way through the crowd to see it this weekend, and it was definitely worth it.

  2. I don’t think I saw it last year. I usually end up that way during the day and I’m a firm believer this is a sight for the evening. I particularly like this year’s Swarovski Crystal. Nice touch.

Leave a Reply

