creative frittata brunch at the brindle room

Saturday was a nice enough of a day to throw on the warm snow boots and head out for a little East Village photo excursion and brunch combo. At the recommendation of both @devintrix and @leslierichin, I’d been wanting to try out brunch at the Brindle Room. I arrived sans reservations but figured that getting there at 11:30, it shouldn’t be a problem. They were great in accommodating me, giving me a heads up that they’d need the table for a large party at 12:30. I always appreciate being warned on the front end, versus getting kicked out on the spot on down the line. Before I’d even sat down, I was already impressed.

The Brindle Room - East Village

The Brindle Room - East Village

They actually regularly serve breakfast during the week, focusing on their speciality – coffee and their changing varieties of donuts. When I was there, there were several varieties of donuts. This particular day they had a chocolate-hazelnut or a chocolate peanut butter donut with toasted coconut. Peanut butter, chocolate, and  toasted coconut? How could I say no to that? And it did not disappoint, paired with a price tag of only $1.50. My coffee was more than that! The donuts are more of the cake-y variety, not the dense chewy variety. More crumbly. I’ve since read they are made by adding mashed potatoes to the dough. Interesting if that is in fact the case – a flavor not clearly noted while eating. Thumbs up overall. 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Donut with Toasted Coconut

Chocolate Peanut Butter Donut with Toasted Coconut

I was tempted by several items on the menu. All entrees range between $10-$12. There was the Challah French Toast, served with banana and Nutella (what can I say – I have a weakness for Nutella. A pervasive weakness that necessitates a jar not be in my apartment). I resisted my usual must try shrimp and grits, deciding to save that one for my next visit. Their preparation consists of creamy parmesan grits with shrimp scampi and poached eggs.

In the end, I decided to go with the Potato Chip Frittata basically because for the life of me, I can’t say I’ve ever seen this on a menu anywhere! Sold. The frittata was made with cheddar, scallion, and paprika, all topped off with fresh homemade potato chips. Oh. My. With all of the other comfort food brunch staples, how has this one remained so untapped? Perfect. I was sort of envious of those around me getting the burger until I realized these chips were like my brunch version of their fries. Happy happy happy. It was definitely unique. I’d recommend giving it a go if you’re feeling adventurous.

Potato Chip Frittata

Potato Chip Frittata

I will definitely be back – probably more for brunch just based on the menu options. Very impressed! Oh, and if you’re curious about my photo excursion, here are some fun East Village snow photos (and yes, I realize you have likely seen so much snow – but snow squirrels?).

The Brindle Room – 277 E 10th St (at Avenue A) – 212.529.9702

2 thoughts on “creative frittata brunch at the brindle room

  1. So good! They have them during the week in the mornings too if you’re feeling adventurous while you’re here. It happens to be basically around the corner from Milkbar.

Leave a Reply

