pumpkin scones (w/ cinnamon sugar glaze)

I’ve mentioned before I have a bit of a pumpkin problem. Whereas some people see it as a fall thing, I just like it in recipes, period. Year round.

When I was preparing the line-up for brunch a few weeks back, I saw a large can of pumpkin looking at me in my pantry. I’ve made muffins before, even pumpkin hummus, but was curious as to what else I could find. I hopped on one of my favorite food blogs, Love and Olive Oil, and came across this recipe they’d found from Pinch my Salt. As a first time scone maker, I found this one super easy and tasty. The pumpkin made the scones have a more moist texture and the glaze? Well, it was just awesome. Very cinnamon-y.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup cake flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 6 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (or to taste)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Cut the butter into small pieces, and place in a small bowl to be refrigerated until ready to use. In a medium bowl, whisk together both flours, baking powder, salt, and all spices. Place bowl in freezer.

In another bowl, combine pumpkin, heavy cream, brown sugar, and vanilla and mix well. Freeze or refrigerate (I just refrigerated).

Combine butter pieces with flour mixture. Using a pastry blender, cut the butter into the flour until it resembles coarse crumbs (alternately, you can slice up the butter in thin slices – this is what I did). Add cold pumpkin mixture and stir until dough is just moistened. The dough will be very crumbly so you know what to expect. Turn the mixture out onto the counter and push the pile together with your hands. It should stick together fairly well. Knead it just a couple of times until it starts to come together. Don’t knead it too much or the dough will get too sticky.

Shape the dough into a circle 3/4 to 1 inch thick. Cut into 8 wedges. Arrange on baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until barely light brown on the bottom. The tops will darken as they cool.

For glaze, mix together powdered sugar, milk, and cinnamon. Add additional sugar or milk as needed to achieve the desired consistency. Brush or drizzle onto warm scones. Makes 8 scones. Enjoy!

One thought on “pumpkin scones (w/ cinnamon sugar glaze)

  1. Pumpkin scones are AWESOMENESS! I used to live with a friend whose nana (who I also called nana) made the BEST pumpkin scones IN THE WORLD. Best heated up slightly and doused with gallons of butter!

Leave a Reply

