fried dough vs funnel cakes vs fried oreos. oh my.

I’ve been on a run of really tasty, yet highly unhealthy fried food that seems to be plentiful as of late in this city. I believe I’ll round out this rampage after I finally make it to Chip Shop in Park Slope, and then I’ll relinquish my recently obtained crown of all things fried to the first willing taker.

Buuuuut… in the meantime, I’ve been trying a bunch of different things around the city. First, there were fried Oreos. Now I was thinking I’d never had them, until my sister reminded me (as did this blog), that I had in fact had them before and sung their praise even. Oooops. For shame. This time though, it was at the street fair on Second Avenue, which was packed with people being one of the first really nice weekend days. I was out walking around shopping with Dixie, so picking up the fried Oreos had the added twist of trying not to feed crumbs for Dixie. For the most part, I succeeded.

Fried Oreos - Second Avenue Street Fair

Fried Oreos - Second Avenue Street Fair

Oreos Showing How They're Best Served. Phenomenal.

Oreos Showing How They're Best Served. Phenomenal.

The next day, I found myself in Coney Island for a friend’s birthday, which of course meant the Freak Show, riding the Cyclone, as well as the required food items – a hot dog at Nathan’s followed by a funnel cake from some random counter along the way. And while I love me some funnel cakes (I always think of is like a poor man’s conjoined beignet), I am not usually one to rant and rave about its wonders. However this particular vendor, just toward the water from the Freak Show, was just perfect. It wasn’t overly done. Only slightly crispy in parts and definitely not throughout. The center was slightly doughy, but it wasn’t raw. It was just right. And the powdered sugar was plentiful. So good. I figured it wouldn’t be bad, but I’d have never expected it to be this good. Next time I’m in Coney Island, I’m going to this place to see if they can make it 2 for 2. I’m hopeful they can.

Funnel Cakes at Coney Island

Funnel Cakes at Coney Island

And this past weekend, I went to CitiField to see the Mets play the Dodgers. A friend of mine is a big Dodgers fan, so we went and I tried to figure out who to root for (I grew up a Braves fan and still don’t know what to do with NY sports teams) and decided finally to root for two main things – the power of the sunshine and the stadium food. After my hot dog, I made my way back down to get an order of “Fried Dough”. It was really a zeppole, except in the form of a long sheet. Intrigued, I got an order and asked for a box in hopes of some of the powdered sugar successfully making the hike back to our seats with me.

Fried Dough at CitiField

Fried Dough at CitiField

It was good – fresh and thin, though a bit greasier than I would like. And even though I made that powdered sugar shaker into my own personal Shake Weight, the powdered sugar wasn’t quite enough for all that dough. Still, it wasn’t too bad and it was interesting to see for sure. A big flat sheet of dough frying, in a shape that at the time most reminded me of a sting ray. Bizarre.

Fried Dough - All Powdered Sugar'd Up

Fried Dough - All Powdered Sugar'd Up

Overall assessment?

Coney Island Funnel Cake > Second Ave Fried Oreoes > CitiField’s Fried Dough

What are some of your fried faves??

Leave a Reply

