sprinkles cupcakes open in nyc

I usually avoid opening day insanity, but eh. It was Friday. I wanted cupcakes. And I knew today the new NYC location for Sprinkles was opening. And besides, I’d been watching the Sprinkles mobile postings about them giving away cupcakes prior to their opening. Sadly I hadn’t been able to make it out, but it had me with cupcakes on the brain. The line wasn’t too bad. I’d approximate I only waited about 20 minutes to get inside to place my order.

Sprinkles - New NYC Location

Sprinkles - New NYC Location

Sprinkles Cupcakes, NYC - Exterior

Sprinkles Cupcakes, NYC - Exterior

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to try. While waiting outside, I heard that their most popular selling cupcake was their red velvet. Eh. That just sounded like a plain option when they had so many other great ones. Maybe chai latte… or vanilla milk chocolate. Maybe cinnamon sugar.

Decision Time...

Decision Time...

When it came down to it, I decided to go with chocolate marshmallow and salty caramel.

Chocolate Marshmallow

Chocolate Marshmallow

I was really excited to see that Chocolate Marshmallow was one of their daily flavors (there are some which are only available on certain days of the week – FYI Nichelle of Cupcakes Take the Cake recommends the Ginger Lemon – I may have to return on a Wednesday to check that out). The Chocolate Marshmallow is a Belgian dark chocolate cake and marshmallow cream with a bittersweet ganache. When I bit in, I found the cake to be too dense for my taste and the icing was too heavy and the chocolate was quite bitter. I think it was also that I was really hoping for more marshmallow, as I found this a bit lacking. The center just  had a little dollop of marshmallow. I’ll confess, it wasn’t my favorite.

Cupcake demolition in process. Slight dash o' marshmallow in sight.

Cupcake demolition in process. Slight dash o' marshmallow in sight.

There were others I wanted to try, but I couldn’t pass up the chance to try their special cupcake (only available May 13-20) – salty caramel. It was a caramel cake with a buttery caramel cream cheese frosting toppped with a fleur de sol. This one? Amazing. It had that whole salty/sweet thing in just the right balance. I’d think this one would be a big hit with the male patrons who usually scoff at the ideas of sweets but dive in if someone brings in chocolate covered pretzels. Yup. Same concept.

Salty Caramel Cupcake @ Sprinkles Cupcakes

Salty Caramel Cupcake @ Sprinkles Cupcakes

The cupcake was even lightly sprinkled with salt. Incorporating cream cheese into the icing was a nice touch. I’ve had this before with straight caramel icing or somethign more along the lines of dulce de leche, and it’s usually too heavy. This lighter version worked nicely. I liked this one a lot. Shame it’s not a part of the regular line-up!

Halfway through the Salty Caramel Cupcake...

Halfway through the Salty Caramel Cupcake...

And I noticed as I was paying, they even have something for your dog. Awwwww.

Canine Cupcakes!

Canine Cupcakes!

Follow them on Twitter or Facebook for special passcodes for free cupcakes. Today I might have ordered two, but oh yes. I only paid for one. Score. I’ll be back to try some more. Perhaps I just didn’t find my fave…

If you’ve been there before, what’s your favorite at Sprinkles?

Sprinkles – 780 Lexington Avenue (b/w East 60 & 61st) – 212.207.8375

2 thoughts on “sprinkles cupcakes open in nyc

Leave a Reply

