fried chicken & whiskey buttermilk pie at hill country chicken

As a last dinner of sorts prior to her moving to London, my friend Anna and I made plans to go to Hill Country Chicken, a spot she recommended and that I’d been meaning to try for quite some time. The atmosphere is very casual – no table service. Instead, you walk up to the display counter, order, and then seat yourself.

When I walked in, I thought it was interesting to see that you could either order set dinners or order by the piece. Smart – so not hungry? Grab a chicken breast and a side, and you’re done. And that’s exactly what I did. I added their “blistered corn salad”, which was a spicy flavorful take on corn salad. And of course, I had to get one of their buttermilk biscuits, which was big, flaky, and fluffy – an essential addition to the meal.

Fried Chicken Dinner - Hill Country Chicken

Fried Chicken Dinner - Hill Country Chicken

And with so many options in their display, dessert was a must try. They have certain daily offerings as well as daily specials, one of which this day was their margarita pie with a pretzel crust.

How to decide?!?

How to decide?!?

And so much more!

And so much more!

I finally decided on the banana cream pie and the whiskey buttermilk pie. I couldn’t resist the banana cream pie and it’s awesome whipped cream topping – and it didn’t disappoint. The topping was vanilla bean flavored. If someone wanted to take vanilla bean ice cream and make it into a topping, this is what it would be. So good. And the filling was just slightly sweet and creamy. Perfect.

Banana Cream Pie

Banana Cream Pie

And a peek inside

And a peek inside

I tried a bite of the margarita pie, which was actually quite good. It was slightly less tart than a key lime pie and definitely tasted more like a margarita. And the pretzel crust was a nice touch. I’d be curious to see that with other desserts, but it worked well as another tie in to your traditional margarita. The whiskey buttermilk pie was also quite good. I usually like buttermilk pie just fine, but sometimes it seems a tad bland and lacking something. In this case, the whiskey brought that necessary something. Don’t like whiskey? Then this is not the option for you. I, on the other hand, really enjoyed it.

Whiskey Buttermilk Pie

Whiskey Buttermilk Pie

And next time, I already know what I’ll be trying… one of the worker’s recommended it as their most popular, but I couldn’t bring myself to choose it over so many other Southern staples. But next time, for sure.

Crème brûlée

Crème brûlée

Hill Country Chicken – 1123 Broadway (at 25th street) – 212.257.6446

3 thoughts on “fried chicken & whiskey buttermilk pie at hill country chicken

Leave a Reply

