whole fish-ing at ethos

Greek food is something I haven’t had a ton of and am always open to trying, so when a friend wanted to do dinner at Ethos on Friday I was in. It’s very simple from the street, but is nice and open inside with seating up to the edge of the kitchen, bordered by displays of their fish. You can take your pick, if that’s your thing. I elected to stay put and let me food instead just come to me, but nice gesture. We had reservations, but as we went on the early side, there were plenty of open tables around us. That changed by about 8PM when it really started to fill up.

Tzatziki - Ethos

Tzatziki - Ethos

Grilled Octopus - Ethos

Grilled Octopus - Ethos

To start, we ordered their tzatziki as well as the grilled octopus. The order of tzatziki was plenty for two to use to accompany the warm pita triangles in their complimentary bread basket. I was a little hesitant on the grilled octopus. I put octopus in the same bucket as calamari – if your grilled rendition is rubbery, I have no interest. However reviews I read beforehand indicated this was *the* appetizer at Ethos, so I agreed and wasn’t disappointed. The outside was just slightly charred as if a subtle reminder that oh yes, it was freshly grilled. The seasoning was simple, which always gets my attention. If you’re not coming up with some 50 ingredient concoction to cover up the flavor underneath and it’s that good then you must be doing something right in my book.

Whole Bronzini - Ethos

Whole Bronzini - Ethos

For my main course, I went with the whole bronzini, with a combination of spinach and rice pilaf as my side. Bronzini is a flaky white fish – not overwhelmingly fishy for those not so keen on the stronger fish flavor. For the most part, the filleting nixed the bones. Only a few straglers remained. The fish was served plain with a lemon and was so thin and juicy it frankly didn’t need any help.

Greek Salad - Ethos

Greek Salad - Ethos

For her main, my friend ordered the Greek salad. The portion size was generous and it looked quite good. Add chicken, and that’d make for plenty for a meal.

Chocolate Mousse - Ethos

Chocolate Mousse - Ethos

To finish, they brought out complimentary dessert, as I understand is the norm. It was a very sweet chocolate mousse. To me, it tasted dangerously close to chocolate buttercream. Note: that doesn’t mean that I didn’t find it a nice finish. Usually it apparently comes with cookies. With or without, always a fan of a place that brings out free dessert. Nice solid offering in Kip’s Bay.

Ethos – 495 Third Avenue (b/w 34th and 35th) – 212.252.1971
Reservations Optional

One thought on “whole fish-ing at ethos

  1. And with all this you still have the perfect figure.
    Just so you know that was written with admiration not envy.
    Waving at you from the Upper West Side
    (hugs)

Leave a Reply

