macy’s food trucks: lobster rolls & todd english

Saturday, there were lots of tasty things parked in Union Square, and this time I’m not referring to the Greenmarket for once. The featured chef that day was Todd English (I peeked into the truck and didn’t see him actually in there, so don’t think the chefs are on-site for the event). While there, they were accepting donations for Feed America.

Macy's Chefs-A-Go-Go Truck

Macy's Chefs-A-Go-Go Truck

They were scheduled to open at 11am, but were running late as the line began to build. Thankfully others waiting were kind and we all rotated, taking turns running over to get iced coffee and iced tea from the neighboring promotion, HP. If I win a tablet from my  detour, there’ll be no complaints here. Macy’s knows how to do a food truck though. Their free lobster roll was generous in both size and quantity of lobster. They had music blaring, with a DJ situated in front of the truck. And if you checked in on FourSquare or followed them on Twitter, you got a free bag.

Lobster Roll - by Todd English

Lobster Roll - by Todd English

I came back by again later when they started serving dessert, which was a bananas foster ice cream pop from Emeril. I’ll admit, I was sad that the cupcakes had disappeared by the time I returned, but the pop was tasty. It was just a bit messy for a warm summer afternoon. Can’t wait to see what they do next.

Dixie, my dog, tried (and failed) to swipe my bananas foster pop!

Dixie, my dog, tried (and failed) to swipe my bananas foster pop!

Anyone else make it out for the event?

Leave a Reply

