rub – righteous indeed

RUB (Righteous Urban Barbeque) - Chelsea

RUB (Righteous Urban Barbeque) - Chelsea

RUB BBQ (@rubbbq) has been on my list for a while, having already checked off most other NYC BBQ spots between the Big Apple BBQ and just life in general. It’s short for Righteous Urban BBQ – I took the name as a challenge when we arrived. Would it live up to such a lofty name? I liked the ambiance from the moment I walked through the front door. It didn’t feel like I was in a Manhattan restaurant. Take the walk over out of the equation and it could have easily been a family restaurant in Alabama.

Fried Green Tomatoes and Hushpuppies

Fried Green Tomatoes and Hushpuppies

We took a varied approach, ordering a little of everything and sharing. To start, we had fried green tomatoes and hushpuppies. The fried green tomatoes were just right, paired with a spicy remoulade. The hushpuppies were good, but were on the dry side and unlike I usually see them, were not sweet at all.

Our BBQ Assortment

Our BBQ Assortment

We ordered the two meat plate, with pulled pork and beef brisket. The pulled pork was my favorite – nicely seasoned and smoked, no need to add any sauces beyond how it was served. The brisket was good, but the bulk had a thick strip of fat along the bottom which was not endearing and flavorful – it just needed to go. (Do any of you like that? If so, I’d love to discuss further…)

The ribs were a nice touch as well. We added a quarter rack of ribs to our order. The ribs were dry and flavorful. They were quite good, although I found myself wanting to follow them up with the ones dripping with sauce I’m familiar with from the Deep South. Different can be good though!

Fried Oreos - RUB

Fried Oreos - RUB

I had to run back over the next day to pick up something we left behind, which meant one thing – an opportunity to complete my overall meal. And by that I of course mean an order of fried Oreos. The girl working the bar thought it was funny, explaining to a patron to my right that she wasn’t from the South and had never heard of such a thing until she came to work there. And I’ll admit, I actually had to come to NYC to encounter my first batch of them. They were quite good, though I’ll admit I’ve had some which were slightly better. I’m forever a fan of the way the deep frying makes the oreos become so soft and the cream blend in with the cookie. I’d say add a bit more powdered sugar here, and I’m sold.

Next time, burnt ends and bourbon & cola (RC Cola! swoon! love!!), I’m coming for you!

208 West 23rd Street (at 7th Avenue) – 212-524-4300
No Reservations

Leave a Reply

