quicks hole – the king of lobster tacos

One if my favorite spots in Cape Cod wasn’t a fancy seafood house. It wasn’t a swanky spot on Martha’s Vineyard. Oh no no. It was a little taco shop by the name of Quick’s Hole, located just a short walk from where the ferry departs.

Live Music Fridays

Live Music Fridays

Now, I will say off season in Cape Cod can be nice. We biked 22 miles from Woods Hole up to Falmouth and back during the week along the Shining Sea Bikeway and the path was nice and empty. And the small roads that connected the cities were not crowded. Even getting into a nicer restaurant to celebrate my birthday? No problem! However for a spot like Quicks Hole, off season means very irregular hours. My first visit was on a Friday, when they have live music even during off-season. That night, they were open until I believe 9.

Sign behind the cashier labels where they source all their seafood by type

Sign behind the cashier labels where they source all their seafood by type

When you see a menu that includes a lobster taco – yes, lobster taco – there’s no option. And it was amazing!! They did not skimp on the lobster meat and it was dusted with cotija cheese and topped with pico de gallo, pickled onions, cabbage, and fresh Baja sauce. I went with the corn tortilla because I figured it’d be stronger, which turned out to be a good call. Lots of toppings to keep inside! One lobster taco sets you back $9.95, or $17.95 for two. This day I was honestly not even hungry (just determined to try it once while we were there) so one was more than enough.

Lobster Taco

Lobster Taco

I enjoyed my meal so much that I wanted to go back the next day. It was 7:15, so I figured I was plenty good on time. Friday and Saturday should have about the same hours, right? But oh no. Off-season hours chose to rear their ugly head. Nope. Lesson? Win some, lose some. But when winning is a lobster taco? It’s all good.

6 Luscombe Avenue, Woods Hole, MA – 508.495.0792
No Reservations

One thought on “quicks hole – the king of lobster tacos

Leave a Reply

