2014, it’s a wrap

I, I did it all
I, I did it all
I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

One Republic

I always end up smiling after I sit down and pull this post together. It isn’t the quickest post I write every year, but it never fails to give far more to me in return than I put in. In going through all of this I realized that it’s no wonder I needed to recharge over the holidays. I crammed a lot into 365 days, and spent time with so many amazing people in so many amazing places across the globe. Grateful.

16158841942_376303b6e6_qThe year began with a visit to Queen of the Night. As big fans of Sleep No More, T and I shouldn’t have been surprised how much we enjoyed the show, which was part performance, part interactive theater, and part dinner. The aerial/circus portions of the show only helped to solidify that, as did the lobster dinner I accidentally scored us. Bam! We also went to see Billy Joel at Madison Square Garden as he kicked off his residency. I hosted a red carpet themed Golden Globes party for the ladies. At the end of month, we also bid farewell to one of my East Village favorites, 7A.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 5.54.12 PMIn February, the music continued as I met up with some friends to see Charlotte Martin perform at Joe’s Pub, one of my favorite NYC venues. I couldn’t get any closer to CharMar, as I sat directly against the show, keeping A’s seat warm (missed you). T and I celebrated our three year anniversary with an amazing dinner at the chef’s table at Aldea. For work, I attended the Cabaret Times Talks Event, which led to my first ever time taking photos along the red carpet. Hello, amazing Alan Cumming and Michelle Williams. And it wouldn’t be a February without a trip to Clinton Street Baking Company to partake in their annual Pancake Month.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.01.41 PMMarch usually signifies winter that just won’t end in Manhattan, but T and I made the most of it and finally made it to Alabama for a visit in March, where we spent the week exploring the city, making trips out to places such as the Jack Daniel’s Distillery (only a relatively short drive from my hometown), and not eating at Rosie’s Cantina nearly as much as we should have. I joined Carrie Kerpen behind the mic for a taping for her All the Social Ladies Podcast, a first for me. We talked about my job at Citi as well as a bit of my nonconventional transition from human resources into social media. MF and I also had one decadent Friday afternoon, checking out the lunch menu at Per Se (post to follow shortly, but the picture at the left is us in the kitchen).

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.04.09 PMIn April, T scored us tickets to see Jimmy Fallon, where we got to see Samuel L. Jackson rap about Boy Meets World, Pitbull well … be Pitbull, and Minnie Driver. I joined some friends for a night of rap only karaoke, and discovered I can do JayZ, Pras, Eminem, and Outkast solo – and pretty darn good. This month was all about Gaga as I worked one of her shows (where she serenaded Tony Bennett) and attended the final one as well out of her series closing out Roseland. I also worked photographing April’s Billy Joel show at Madison Square Garden – taking in every last moment of what will likely be my only concert of his within the first eight rows. It was also a month for Tori, waking up at the crack of dawn to get general admission tickets to her show at Williamsburg’s Rough Trade and waiting in the rain for hours to see her on the Katie Couric Show.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.06.07 PMMay brought a trip to Hamburg, Germany as I flew over to speak at the Marketing 2.0 Conference. I lucked out as my friend Anna was speaking too, so we got to adventure around Hamburg, eating fair food and even dancing in the ran to end fascism (I have no explanation – it’s just what the sign said). S came back from Colorado for her wedding celebration. I went with J to a Beyonce dance class, where we learned part of the actual choreography for her song “Run the World”, and I gained mad respect for Queen Bey. That was haaaaard.

In June, I took my first ever trapeze class along the beach at iFly on Long Beach in Long Island. As much as I love flying at the TSNY rig outside at Pier 40 at sunset, I have to say that this beach-side view just might have it beat. I also spoke at the Useful Social Media Corporate Conference.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.31.32 PMJuly was a busy month. T and I were so glad to get the chance to see Once on Broadway before it closed. I worked the Justin Timberlake show for Citi / MasterCard / American Airlines, where I had the opportunity to meet the lovely Meredith Viera. I flew out to the left coast with my friend A for a combination of concerts and vacation, visiting Vancouver (and Victoria, where we had the most amazing fish and chips), Seattle, and Portland and seeing three Tori Amos shows / one radio show. T and I also joined our friends out east for a trip to the wineries in Long Island and went to see Katy Perry at Barclays for his birthday. I took part in Pat Kiernan’s Trivia Food Fight at the Bell House where I unexpectedly won an on-stage pie eating contest (and tickets to the Vendy’s!).

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.29.38 PMAugust was surprisingly cool for NYC. T and I went to see the Staten Island Yankees and made a trip over to Red Hook to do a whiskey tasting at Van Brunt Stillhouse. I went to visit JG in Boston to catch up and to see Tori Amos. I came back to Brooklyn and then hosted A for the two Beacon Theater Tori Amos shows. In the middle of all of that, we (along with PS) managed to see Bullets Over Broadway and snag a selfie with Zach Braff. I then flew south to catch the last three Tori Amos shows of the tour and catch up with JC and JP. The month ended on a positive note as we celebrated my sister’s wedding with her bridal shower.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.34.48 PMSeptember was one of the biggest months of the year, but I feel like that is usually the case. There was my sister’s wedding pre-party at Mabel’s and wedding at the Brooklyn Historical Society / Frankie’s, which was absolutely beautiful and where I gave my first ever MOH speech. The Monday following the wedding, I started a new adventure in a new job tackling a brand new role for the organization. I also celebrated my birthday, with T cooking me an amazing homemade Chick-fil-A dinner and later treating me to dinner at BLT Prime.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.37.38 PMWe returned out east again in October, making another trip to Martha Clara for a tasting. N came into town for a belated birthday trip and we enjoyed a perfect fried chicken dinner at Birds and Bubbles and a ridiculously decadent evening of desserts and champagne at Dominique Ansel’s Wonderland (part of the New York City Food and Wine Festival). MF and I finally went to see Pippin’, which featured some fun aerial stunt work. T and I also made it out to see Michael C. Hall in Hedwig, where we confirmed that yes, Dexter can in fact sing.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.33.39 PMIn November, T and I joined some friends in Coney Island for a Brooklyn Bolt game, which was fun but confirmed that Coney Island and cold temps do not mix. MF and I went for pizza at Danny Meyer’s latest addition, Marta. T and I went to see Emma Stone (and, of course, Alan Cumming) in Cabaret, where we confirmed beforehand at our dinner at Maple that good food in the Theatre District is a myth. We stayed local for Thanksgiving, joining JP and CT for dinner out in Long Island, complete with post dinner Home Alone 2 in PJs. So much yes.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 6.38.31 PMDecember ended up being all about writing. I skipped NaNoWriMo this year in favor of putting in some hard work on my existing manuscript. Many nights were spent just me, Dixie, and my laptop. I participated in two writing competitions (PitMad and PitchMAS) and began seriously submitting it out to agents. Still very much a focus for me, and one that will continue into 2015. To really do this, it requires lots of time and overcoming any sensitivity to constructive feedback. Slowly but surely, getting there on both counts. T and I put our remaining vacation days to good use, taking to the Metro North for a long-weekend trip out to Cold Spring, NY. And I joined JB for a third Billy Joel show at MSG, where surprisingly he proved to have all of the Christmas cheer as he performed mash-ups of carols with his staple faves throughout the entire show.

And, of course, this year meant lots of hours of hard work in the air at Circus Warehouse. I daresay that throughout this year, we’ve actually become friends.

There are already some exciting things on the horizon for 2015 that I can’t wait for, but I can’t talk about them here. No, this is all about 2014.

Off to put on all of the sparkles. Hope you all have a wonderful New Year’s and see you in 2015!

3 thoughts on “2014, it’s a wrap

Leave a Reply

