pie face opening at the mondrian soho

When a friend of mine asked if I’d be her guest to last week’s New York City opening of Pie Face Cafe, I jumped at the opportunity. I’ll admit, I didn’t know much about Pie Face specifically – but I am familiar with meat pies. I learned that Pie Face is all over Australia. It’s like their Starbucks, except instead of caffeine they’re peddling a puff pastry full of meats and such.

I was so excited that, as you can see, my friends and I kept scrolling through the day's tweets at the event. Ha!

I was so excited that, as you can see, my friends and I kept scrolling through the day's tweets at the event. Ha!

Celebratory Rooftop Decor

Celebratory Rooftop Decor

The event took place on the rooftop of the Mondrian in SoHo. A January evening on a rooftop outdoors shouldn’t have worked, but yet it did. Heat lamps were sparse but it didn’t matter. From one side, you could see the Empire State Building. From the other, the Brooklyn Bridge.

Why hello Brooklyn!

Why hello Brooklyn!

An then came the pies. Oh so many pies. There was mincemeat. Chicken curry Thai. Mexican. Vegetable. Chicken and mushroom. It was their “mini” variety, which made it easier to feel completely fine with trying a little of each!

One lil' pie (this one's mincemeat)

One lil' pie (this one's mincemeat)

I was all set on avoiding the mincemeat, but it was the first one to come out and at that point, we weren’t sure how much they’d be serving so I gave it a go. I was pleasantly surprised. The spices made it super flavorful – and it ended up actually being my favorite out of the bunch.

This pie warranted a step and repeat

This pie warranted a step and repeat

I incorrectly assumed no dessert, but was surprised to see that was not the case. Out came more trays. Cherry pie. Chocolate pie. You name it. So many. All were in the same mini pie form as the meat pies. I’d recommend saving room for at least a little one to share.

I haven’t had the chance yet to make it into the store, but I hear it’s a bit snug. I’m still planning to make a visit soon – after all, I have to round out my experience by sampling a few more of their desserts 😉

Pie Face Cafe – 1691 Broadway (b/w 53rd St & 54th St) – 212.247.9065

4 thoughts on “pie face opening at the mondrian soho

  1. Pingback: pie face preview with google nyc « grits in the city

  2. Pingback: 2012, you made me smile « grits in the city

Leave a comment